Club 252

Obsession

on April 15, 2008

I love writing curriculum – organizing what God’s teaching me into lessons to share with the kids on Wednesday nights. Plus, when I work ahead, I can have a team work with me & share/implement ideas. Anyway, this next year, I will be a bit of a “Johnny nine note” – it’s already started. Everywhere I look I see the Fruit of the Spirit. It was that way last year with sheep, though, & the year before with military & spiritual warfare.

This week, I am trying to get the definitions down so the kids (& I) can have them firmly in our minds throughout the year. This is yet another bonus to working with kids. If it’s boiled down to where a child gets it, the adults will most likely be able to as well.:) The Fruit of the Spirit is a lifelong project for me, so the sooner I can boil it down for frequent meditation the better. I want this stuff sunk way down deep in my heart, and the kids’.

Here’s what I’ve got for definitions so far. I share this so if you all have ideas, changes, input, please comment!

Love – (vs. selfishness) “Giving to others without worrying about what I get out of it.”
Joy – (vs. self-pity) “The automatic enthusiasm of my spirit when I am in fellowship with God.”
Peace -(vs. anxiety) “Building my life around that which is eternal & can’t be destroyed or taken away.”
Patience – (vs. intolerant) “Accepting a difficult situation as from God without giving a deadline to remove it.”
Kindness – (vs. indifference) “Investing whatever is necessary to help those in need.”
Goodness – (vs. impurity or hypocrisy) “Eagerly doing what is right, even when no one is looking.”
Faithfulness – (vs. unreliability) “Confidence that God always keeps His promises & being dependable like He is.”
Gentleness – (vs. harshness) “Quietly putting God’s love into action.”
Self-Control – (vs. self-indulgence) “Rejecting my own desires & doing what is right.”

One response to “Obsession

  1. Dawn says:

    Thank you for posting this. I’ve been trying to work with my 3 1/2 year old boy about playing nicely. After months of focusing on what NOT to do (hitting, “swiping,” yelling etc.) I really wanted to focus on the positive things he SHOULD be doing. “For as he thinks within himself, so he is.” Proverbs 23:7a CSB Thank you for helping me explain these difficult concepts to my small child.

    Definitions of the “Fruit of the Spirit” for Young Children: Adapted by Dawn Wright

    Love:
    Caring for or about another person, even when they are not being nice to you.
    Joy:
    Happiness way down deep in your heart, no matter what is happening to you.
    Peace:
    A calm heart that doesn’t cause trouble.
    Patience:
    Waiting without whining or complaining, even when what I am waiting for takes a long time.
    Kindness:
    Doing good things to or for others, even when they are not are not being good to you.
    Goodness:
    Doing what is right, even when no one is looking.
    Faithfulness:
    Doing what you say you will do and not doing what you say you will not do.
    Gentleness:
    Being calm and careful; quiet with your voice and soft with your touch.
    Self-control:
    Having control over my feelings and actions; stopping myself from doing something wrong.

    Some statements taking from sources:
    “The Fruit of the Spirit Devotional” by Amy
    http://www.raisingarrows.net/2012/01/fruit-of-the-spirit-devotional-and-printables-for-young-children/
    Fruit Definitions by Liberty92 of North Woodbury Alliance Church https://passthebaton.wordpress.com/tag/fruit-of-the-spirit/
    Also some definitions from Wordsmyth: Beginner’s Dictionary http://www.wordsmyth.net/

Leave a Reply

